View Location Map
CLASSIFIED HISTORIC TOWN
Derby was the site of the largest open cut tin mine in the southern Hemisphere which closed after World War II. In its heyday it supported a population of over three thousand people. Derby is home of Briseis Dam which supplied the water for working the mine, it burst in 1929 killing fourteen people.
Some of the old mine buildings and the old Derby school have been transformed into a mine museum which displays a fascinating history of tin mining activity around the north east from 1876 to 1940. ‘Miners Lunches’ are also available. Some of the old shops now house modern crafts, antiques and collectables and café. Tasmania’s oldest timber bank building (c1888) is situated in this town.
WHAT TO SEE AND DO
Walking track along river, 4wd tours can be arranged.
The area offers fine trout fishing.
The famous Derby River ‘Derby’ (October).