Petrol and Oil Restaurant, Licensed Restaurant or Hotel counter meals Refreshments Accommodation Camping Area Liquor Public Toilets BBQ Picnic Area Visitor Information

View Location Map

DISTANCES: Hobart 46Km


A charming colonial village on the Heritage Highway Route, which had its beginnings in 1817. Among the fine Georgian and Victorian buildings is St. Marys Church with its historic graveyard dating back to 1828. Herein lies the grave of first fleeter Elizabeth Flexmore.

Dysart House c1845, a fine sandstone Georgian mansion offers quality accommodation. It was a former staging post during the stage coach days.

The old General Store Antique Shop was originally one of the town’s first stores. Built in 1840 by a pardoned convict from local convict made bricks.

The Wilmot Arms c1843 operated as a coaching unit until 1897. Now modern day travellers can experience friendly colonial accommodation and generous breakfasts. Quality cuisine is also available across the road at the Huntington Tavern, with log fires in winter.

More antiques in town are sold at Kempton Antiques which operates from the charming old building c1860 of the Kempton Post Office.

Sheltered picnic areas and BBQ’s are available.