New Norfolk

Petrol and Oil Restaurant, Licensed Restaurant or Hotel counter meals Refreshments Accommodation Camping Area Caravan Park Liquor Supplies Youth Hostel Public Toilets BBQ Picnic Area Visitor Information

View Location Map

DISTANCES: Hobart 33Km, Strathgordon 122Km

CLASSIFIED HISTORIC TOWN

New Norfolk’s attraction is a delightful combination of history, picturesque scenery and modern services. It is the major town of the valley.

There are many historic buildings and, while most can only be viewed from the road, there are several that welcome visitors. These include St Matthew’s Church, the oldest Anglican church in Tasmania, ‘The Close’ next door, the Bush Inn Hotel (1815), which claims to be the oldest continually licensed hotel in Australia, the famous Old Colony Inn (1835), the Oast House - originally the hop kilns of Tynwald Estate, Glen Derwent - originally the ‘King of Prussia Inn’, ‘Tynwald’ which is a fine example of authentically restored colonial architecture and some of the historic buildings of ‘Valleyfield’, first licensed as the King’s Head Inn in 1822. Also see The Barracks at Willow Court, a superb stone building which was built as a military hospital in 1830-31. The Oast House also has a market, museum and a restaurant.

The shopping centre has a mix of old and new businesses with self-guided walking tour options around the historic town centre, Arthur Square, the banks of the Derwent River and a range of magnificent old buildings.

For the adventurous try Jet Boat rides over the Derwent River rapids.

Norske Skog Boyer is the major employer in the area. Established in the early 1940s, the mill supplies some 40% of Australia’s newsprint. Tours are available at 24 hours notice.

A council sponsored information centre is open 7 days a week from 10am-4pm.