Scottsdale

Petrol and Oil Restaurant, Licensed Restaurant or Hotel counter meals Refreshments Accommodation Camping Area Caravan Park Liquor Supplies Youth Hostel Public Toilets BBQ Picnic Area Staffed Tasmanian Visitor Information Centre

View Location Map

DISTANCES: Launceston 63Km, St Helens 100Km

This substantial township may be regarded as the hub of the north-east and serves some of the richest agricultural and forest country in the state. It was named after James Scott, the Government Surveyor who in 1852, explored the then unknown north-east hinterland. Soon afterwards, a Launceston miller named Thomas Cox selected 81 ha on a creek one km from the present township. The settlement became known unofficially as ‘Cox’s Paradise’. The first official name was Ellesmere and in 1863 this was changed to Scottsdale.

Several timber mills are located on the outskirts of town. Food processing takes place in the Army Research Division which processes dehydrated food for the armed forces. Seed growing, mining, dairy and crop farming and the cultivation of oil poppies (used in the manufacture of prescription drugs), which provide a blaze of colour when in bloom in January and February, are other industries in the area.

The Scottsdale Forest EcoCentre in King Street is an attraction and provides full Tasmanian Visitor Information and services. The EcoCentre features a greenhouse-style forest interpretive centre that displays living species from forest communities ranging from costal health to sclerophyll and rainforest - a must see.

The view from the Sidling look-out on the main highway 16 km west of Scottsdale is superb. Northeast Park, on the Tasman Highway east of the town, provides scenic picnic facilities, a playground and pleasant walks through unique flora.

RECREATION

9-hole golf course on George Street (Bridport Road), bowls, heated swimming pool, tennis courts, Mt Stronach Walk.