Southern Midlands

In Bothwell and Oatlands you can soak up the living atmosphere of a bygone era. They are the service centres for a large agricultural district but also feature more than 50 stone and convict brick buildings. St Lukes Uniting Church, designed by noted colonial architect John Lee Archer, was originally used by Presbyterians and Anglicans and is the oldest Presbyterian church in Australia. Wentworth House was built in 1833 by Captain D’Arcy Wentworth whose brother, William, built Sydney’s Vaucluse House. The first public library in Tasmania was conducted in Bothwell in 1837 in a building still in use in Alexander St. The first herd of Aberdeen Angus cattle in Australia were brought to a Bothwell property, Dennistoun, and Bothwell residents claim their golf course was the first in the country.

The Historic Village of Richmond, gateway to the Coal River Valley, is just a twenty minute drive from the city of Hobart. The village itself is the oldest historic town in Tasmania. Richmond has one of the best preserved convict jails in Australia - the oldest part pre-dates Port Arthur by five years. The town’s stone bridge was built in 1823 and is the oldest bridge still standing in Australia. The village houses the oldest Roman Catholic Church, the oldest bridge and the oldest postal building in Australia.

The picturesque Coal River Valley is home to a number of leading vineyards producing award winning, cool climate wines.